What our guests say

We had a lovely stay at the Studio. Upon arriving we met Paul who was very helpful with our luggage. The studio was larger than the pictures had led me to believe…. The small garden was lovely for eating out when the weather was nice, as well as being a good space for our dog to wander in between walks. We will definitely be returning.

The Studio, September 2022

Had the most lovely time staying at Sandpipers with my husband and 2 dogs. The cottages are in the most peaceful valley, a 2 minutes walk from the beach. There was everything we needed and the bed was so confortable. We also had amazing views from the huge window in Sandpipers. There was a 5 minute walk to get to Sennen Cove where there were some lovely cafes and restaurants and we also walked to Lands End one day. We stay in Scotland so it was a ling journey but definitely worth it!

Sandpipers, September 2022

We had the most idyllic 10 days in the basking shark with our 10 year old Labrador. It really is a little Shangri-La. Coastal path literally on the doorstep and beautiful walk into Sennen where we had the best Sunday Lunch ever. We will be back for sure, thank you

Basking Shark, September 2022

Excellent stay and lovely location

Petra, September 2022

Highly reccomend the studio. Its a beautiful little place to stay with the most breath-taking sunsets. The weather was very unkind to us. But.... when the sun did come out the wander down to the beach was amazing (if not a little strenuous) same as the walk down to the studio. If you are at all in poor health it will cause a problem as in the bad weather it was very steep and slippy. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. The studio was immaculately clean and well kept. The garden is totally secure which was what we wanted as we have 2 teeny little chihuahuas, so they were safe. The studio has everything you will need in there so you need take nothing with you. Lovely and silent at night with just the sound of the sea. Would very much reccomend the studio and would love to stay again.

The Studio, September 2022

Such a magic place, our own slice of paradise. Cant wait to come back

The Studio, September 2022

Absolutely stunning place to stay! The cottage has everything you need for a lovely stay. Small but very cosy. Loved sitting in the evening and watching the stars or sat outside and just watching the waves roll in. Amazing place to go for walking as you can walk for miles. We hardly used our car. Will definitely be booking again - also Brian who helped us with our bags was such a lovely man and top stars to him - thank you!

Cats Cradle, September 2022

Absolutely gorgeous. Idylic location. lovely to be so close to the beach. Very high spec cottage.

Tresillian, September 2022

We spent a wonderfully relaxed weekend in The Studio: the location was beautiful and the cottage, very pretty - would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a laid back getaway!

The Studio, August 2022

What a fantastic location and a beautifully authentic cottage. We had a superb week, in the sea every day due to the heatwave. Sennen Cove is our new favourite haven in Cornwall. Highly recommended. A big thank you must go to Brian who helped out when my son's car wouldn't start, he is a star!

White Rose, August 2022

A stunning position with a well equipped house. The men who brought our luggage down were exceptionally helpful…..

Sheldrake, August 2022

At the bottom of a little place called Sunny Corner Lane ☀️ there is an enchanting little bolt hole , the Basking Shark right on the south west coast path. It is almost as though time has stood still here but for the crashing of the waves and the distant sound of happy beach goer’s… As you walk along the coastal path there is something new around every corner from giant stormy swells to secluded little coves of white sand and turquoise sea….It was lovely to enjoy morning coffee watching the sunrise we couldn’t have asked for more. There is something magical about this little place that has captured my heart !! Thank you Vellamdreath Cornish cottages 💓

Basking Shark, August 2022

We had a fabulous time at Petra. The cottage was cosy for your family of 6. It was an easy walk to the beach and the children enjoyed jumping and body surfing in the waves. A great location to sights.... A variety of activities were on close by. We enjoyed walking along the Coastal Path to Lands End. It was also a great location for the Minack Theater, which was a wonderful afternoon! And fun exploring the Tin Mines. The cottage had everything you could need,.. Thank you for a wonderful week! We would definitely return.

Petra, August 2022

Vellandreath is amazing, great location, great views and lovely and quite. Will definitely be back again!

Little Petra, July 2022

Thank you for a wonderful week at Castaways, It was just perfect.

Castaways, June 2022

Our second stay at Vellandreath and would recommend the peacefulness and privacy of this cottage. Clean and bright, the cottage is a great for a relaxing break away. We enjoyed our morning and late evening walks on the beach and managed a walk over to Lands End one afternoon. A local shop is a ten minute walk away, as well as an easy access path over the dunes, to Sennen Cove for a pub lunch and Cornish beer. Thanks to Paul and the team at Vellandreath, we had another great stay.

Castaways, May 2022

The cottage itself is cosy but very well equipped. It was perfect for our stay! The location is just beautiful right in the middle of the valley with the beach below. Sandpipers has a courtyard below and a decked area by the front door - we sat here most evenings watching some beautiful sunsets. The dog loved it too 😊

Sandpipers, May 2022

Our stay in the Petra cottage was just lovely. The most beautiful location. The cottage was well equipped, clean, comfortable and there were some nice touches for our arrival. All very well organised with the luggage pick ups. And great communication with the team. We’ll definitely be back!

Petra, May 2022

Great location within easy reach of the beach and coast path. The well equipped cottage conversion was kept in good condition and had a lovely garden with seaview. Helpful and friendly hosts.

Castaways, May 2022

We had a great time, the accommodation, location and especially staff were great. The location, gardens and landscaping make the place really magical and everything is really well setup, the cottage has a lovely homely feel.

Penrose, April 2022

Who thought a week in February could be so amazing?! Sandpipers had everything we could possibly need despite it being so compact.It was warm and all the lovely guys that work there keep it and the grounds looking really good. The view was our entertainment...no matter what the weather. Being out of season we often had the beach almost to ourselves. The steep walk up to the car and up and down to the beach , will get you fit! Thank you for a brilliant week!

Sandpipers, February 2022

What a fantastic spot. We felt thoroughly at home from the moment we arrived and never wanted to leave and go back to reality. We are counting the weeks until we come back in February. Thankyou!

Petra, January 2022

We found a treasure! We were delighted with all aspects of Castaways. Beautiful cottage, beautiful location. A fabulous place to spend Christmas. Everybody was very helpful and all our needs were met. We will definitely be returning.

Castaways, January 2022

Tresillian was a perfect off-season location; quiet, apart from the pounding surf, well equipped, set in beautiful quirky gardens and just a short walk through the dunes from the beach. Hope to be back for another winter stay.

Tresillian, December 2021

We had an absolutely fantastic holiday in Penrose. The cottage was beautiful and the location was absolutely stunning! Paul was very friendly and helpful during our stay too. We all (including our dogs) absolutely loved our week. We'd definitely love to return! Thanks so much.

Penrose, November 2021

Sunset on another magic day overlooking Sennen Cove from the Vallandreath Cornish Cottages.. a magic spot.

Tresillian, November 2021

Always a wonderful stay in this “little piece of heaven”. A year is never complete without our fix of Vellendreath & Sennen.

Petra, November 2021

Beyond expectations, very picturesque, very kind and helpful caretakers on arrival, during the stay and on departure. As good as it gets for an English get away.... dont forget your wetsuit!

Cats Cradle, October 2021

Great location to stay to enjoy this part of the country. Very well maintained and thoroughly enjoyed the walks locally. Very cosy accommodation and loved using the log fire.

Cats Cradle, October 2021

Wow what an amazing stay we had! We only had a short Monday to Friday break but it was absolutely perfect! The cottage was perfectly presented and well equipped and was lovely and clean...  Would highly recommend and would definitely go back in the future

Sandpipers, October 2021

We had an amazing time in such a lovely place and will definitely book another break away at the basking shark, but next time we will stay longer.

Basking Shark, September 2021

We had a fantastic week here. The view from the cottage window was amazing, I so enjoyed watching the sun set over the sea. The cottage is so well equipped and the little garden was perfect...

Girl Annie, September 2021

We spent another fantastic week at Shelldrake- great cottage, amazing views, beautiful Cornwall! How many places allow you to walk from the house to the beach with the sand between you toes ? Thank you.

Sheldrake, August 2021

Great location and very dog-friendly as no cars. Best beaches in the world on your doorstep. Luggage transfer was a breeze.

White Rose, August 2021

We loved Castaways! What a perfect cottage in a glorious location. The cottage is well equipped and atmospheric with a lovely garden. We’re walkers and with the coastal path at our doorstep, we could walk as far as we liked with the most spectacular scenery. Simply gorgeous! Sennen beach is fabulous too with good surfing (or boogie boarding). Getting our luggage down to the cottage was easy, nothing was too much trouble for Paul, the caretaker. All in all, a wonderful week for my wife and I and Rufus the dog!

Castaways, July 2021

Thank you…we had the most amazing stay at Sandpipers. Paul gave such a friendly welcome and the cottage was just lovely. You were also so accommodating and helpful in moving my initial booking from March to May due to lockdowns. Will definitely be back. You should be so proud!j

Sandpipers, July 2021

Fourth stay and it still doesn’t disappoint. First time at The Studio and it was excellent. Great setting and a lovely secluded garden. The cottage itself had everything we needed and was spotless when we arrived. Special thanks to Paul who was brilliant, We will be back.

The Studio, July 2021

Cats Cradle was the perfect cottage for our far too short stay! Well equipped kitchen. Although the gin glasses weren't quite big enough! (Personal taste!!)Superb beaches and an easy walk to Sennen Cove for lunch and dinner or just a drink. We really didn't want to leave.

Cats Cradle, July 2021

1 week since departing the beautiful Sennen Cove Cornwall. Our stay in Basking Shark was perfect for the two of us, the cute little cottage is cosy and snug and has everything you may need. Most nights we ate in as the views and plot where we stayed are so beautiful we did not feel the need to venture out too much. The beach is absolutely stunning, I highly recommend to book here an experience you will not forget. We are really hoping to be able to book and come back again soon! Paul the caretaker is such a great guy very down to earth and nothing is too much of a bother for him please be sure to tip him for his efforts! Thank you 😊 x

Basking Shark, July 2021

We had a weeks stay in Castaways which we found fantastic. The cottage was tremendous and the staff extremely helpful. We will certainly be visiting again. Many thanks to all at Vellandreath Cornish Cottages.

Castaways, July 2021

We had a really lovely holiday in Tresillian. The cottage is very comfortable, and there was plenty of space for six adults and 2 dogs. Garden was large, private and beautiful. The location is fantastic, just 5 minutes walk from Sennen Cove beach and 15 minutes walk to a dog friendly beach. Paul was really helpful. Thanks Paul. Would highly recommend Tresillian. All the cottages looked lovely and we are highly likely to book one of them again.

Tresillian, July 2021

A beautiful location. We have been visiting Sennen Cove the past 20 years. This cottage was definitely our favourite accommodation.

Petra, June 2021

WHAT.A.SPOT. We had a really relaxing holiday and the views (even from inside the cottage) were amazing.

Basking Shark, June 2021

Absolutely lovely cottage and garden we have rebooked .

Tresillian, June 2021

Lovely secluded retreat close to beach and great walks etc very clean well presented and helpful staff. I would definitely stay again.

Penrose, June 2021

Fabulous wee cottage Everything supplied excellent. Great assistance when we arrived and Left. Thank you

Sandpipers, June 2021

I enjoyed my stay so much despite the weather, that I have booked again in September

Sandpipers, May 2021

I have to say this was the BEST holiday I’ve had in a long while! The accommodation was superb, it’s location was incredible, the cottage facilities were fantastic, everything is catered for. If your looking to holiday in western Cornwall I highly recommend vealandreath Cornish cottages you will not be disappointed just delighted, thank you to Brian, adam and the team 5 stars !!

Penrose, May 2021

We enjoyed a splendid week at Castaways, although one of the few Vellandreath properties without a sea view from the living area the fantastic garden with amazing views of the bay more than makes up for it. We spent many happy moments sitting on the bench amidst the gargantuan gunnera, listening to the brook gurgle down the valley whilst watching the sea, totally awesome.

Castaways, May 2021

We had a lovely family holiday the cottage was perfect for our stay,Paul was very helpful would highly recommend loved it .

Tresillian, May 2021

We and our cockerpoo Oscar recently stayed at the Studio, near the most gorgeous beach, for a few days break after the many lockdowns and what a treat we had. The Studio was delightful, extremely well equipped, in the most peaceful setting, just birdsong and rolling wave noise. The garden was totally enclosed so great for a nosey, adventurous dog and was a lovely place to sit with a coffee or glass of wine and gaze at the sea. Lunch at the pub at the other end of the beach was great and soooo many lovely walks to wile away the days, even in the rain. All in all fab-u-lous, will return! Paul the caretaker deserves a mention too, discreet but everso helpful and cheerful. Many thanks one and all.

The Studio, May 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Basking Cottage. The situation is pretty perfect with incredible views across the beach and seas. Greeting me was Paul, who couldnt have been more helpful. The studio is well equipped with a small kitchen, bed and bathroom which suited my stay as one person....I have no hesitation to recommend Vellandreath to anyone who is looking for a reset, peace and beauty in a wonderful location. Thank you

Basking Shark, May 2021

We highly recommend this place, the location is perfect, right on the beach, the flat is super cute and well equipped, nice private garden with sea view . The staff is really nice and friendly. Easy to access and 15mn from the city for shopping.

Basking Shark, May 2021

As busy as Sennen was during this half term Sandpipers is ideal for a relaxing and away from it all break. Vellandreath's location offers great views and access to the beach below. The accommodation is clean and well maintained. Arrival and departure procedures well communicated and organised.

Sandpipers, November 2020

Absolutely stunning location. The studio had everything we needed and was perfect for our stay. Brian was so helpful a credit to your company. A big thank you and we will be back.

The Studio, October 2020

Petra was a comfortable cottage with surprisingly good fertility’s. log fire was a nice touch. Good walk to beach to watch the surfing and the seals. Good week all round.

Petra, October 2020

White Rose is more than just a cosy cottage on the beach it’s total heaven From the moment you walk through the door you feel at home. We were there October so cosy and warm .Fantastic well equipped kitchen Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and lovely attention to detail You open the back door to a beautiful garden with a stream running through From the cottage it’s short walk to the beach our dogs were in heaven We will be booking for next year but a week this time 3 days just wasn’t enough Thank you for a wonderful holiday

White Rose, October 2020

We booked the cottage for a family celebration of my 50th birthday and it was wonderful. The cottage was beautifully appointed, very clean and warm. The location in the sand dunes by the beach is fabulous. It was like being in another world and made a very welcome escape from the rest of the world!

Penrose, October 2020

A great location for a relaxing holiday break. I will be back.

Petra, October 2020

Sandpipers at Vellandreath is the perfect coastal bolthole for 2 we loved it! The unique completely glass gable end has the most wonderful view down the valley to Whitesands bay beach below. This Is wild and beautiful Cornwall at its finest. The SW coastal path runs right across the valley and you can walk to Sennen in 15 minutes on the sandy footpath through the dunes. A Perfect autumn weekend we will definitely be back.

Sandpipers, October 2020

Perfectly located and beautifully presented cottage, ideal for surfing and long beach and cliff top walks. Well equipped and cosy in the evenings. We loved it!...

Tresillian, October 2020

Fabulous location - lovely little cottage and garden. Organisation great. 

White Rose, September 2020

We stayed for 3 days during our honeymoon. We were greeted by Brian who kindly took our luggage to the studio. When was arrived we were blown away by the view from the private garden. Inside was so beautiful also. So perfect for a nice romantic getaway in the most incredible location.

The Studio, September 2020

What a gorgeous place to stay! We absolutely loved it- the location is superb and just a very short walk to the beach. The Studio was spotless- which during these times made us feel reassured. We will be back as soon as we can be!

The Studio, September 2020

We had a lovely stay at Whitebreakers and the views are amazing...

Whitebreakers, September 2020

Lovely cottage with everything you could need, all cleverly designed to make use of the space. The kitchen from which you can see the beach is well equipped and the garden is a lovely suntrap. In the evening the fire kept the place warm and cosy. The location is of course unbeatable. We shall be back.

Petra, September 2020

Beautiful cottage in stunning location. Every comfort catered for. The garden is a delight. Blissful place to stay - thank you.

Tresillian, August 2020

Loved our week at girl Annie. What a gorgeous cottage with amazing views. All staff were so helpful and communication excellent. This is a big help particularly in these challenging times. Have already booked for next year!!

Girl Annie, August 2020

We loved our week at Vallandreath - just perfect for immediate access to two beautiful beaches (one dog-friendly all day, the other before 10 and after 6). A great location if you want to just leave the car parked up for a week and enjoy what's on your doorstep - coastal walks, bodyboarding, sunsets, a view that warms your heart and they even do gf fish and chips in Sennen Cove! Cats Cradle was ideal for us as a couple with our small dog...

Cats Cradle, August 2020

Absolutely delightful cottage and surroundings excellent customer service from start to finish thank you

Sandpipers, August 2020

Lovely week in Whitebreakers.Spent most of the time in beautiful garden with lovely views and watched the lovely sunsets over the sea. The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed.

Whitebreakers, July 2020

Wonderful location with stunning views and a real sense of tranquility. A lovely cottage, very cosy with a lovely garden. Family friendly set up.

White Rose, July 2020

Another fantastic stay in Castaways. We especially enjoy sitting in the garden, listening to nearby babbling brook, watching the sun disappear over the horizon and star gazing at night. Oh yes, of course, walking above the sea and beach as well. Thank you.

Castaways, March 2020

Tresillian is a lovely property - the nicest of the ones we have stayed in at Vellandreath - great views, warm, privacy and spacious. Thanks to Brian for being really helpful. See you next year.

Tresillian, February 2020

Another fantastic stay at one of the Vellandreath cottages. For us there's no better destination in all of Cornwall.

Sheldrake, January 2020

Castaways was a lovely cottage. We spent a week in Cornwall and loved the scenery and peaceful stay. It was rejuvenating and we had no issues with the cottage. The secluded area reminds me of the east coast of South Africa.

Castaways, January 2020

Simply amazing. Can’t wait to come back :)

Whitebreakers, January 2020

Loved staying at Girl Annie- the view from the windows was spectacular to watch the storms coming in- really windy for our week but the cottage was so cosy with the wood burner going- a truely wonderful experience !!

Girl Annie, December 2019

We had an absolutely marvellous time on this holiday, our dog was beside himself with the amazing walks he had on the deep sandy beach & in the sand dunes. We went out of season in November, as you can take your furry pals on the beaches then. The cottage was lovely with everything you could need, tho I would recommend stocking up in the Penzance supermarkets before arrival & then you can have it transported with your luggage down the very steep hill to your cottage. Sennen Cove is either a 15 min walk via the beach or you can get on the coastal path from your back garden, taking you through the dunes & that’s easier going taking just over 5 mins. It’s definitely worth using Brian, the caretaker, to get all your stuff to & from on arrival & departure dates. This was such a special place to stay & we’re so coming back! 👌🏻😁 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Castaways, December 2019

We love Girl Annie for the views, walking from the door and the cosy interior.

Girl Annie, December 2019

Girl Annie...a beautiful haven to watch stormy seas and feel completely safe within the thick granite walls! Absolutely loved our stay thank you. The cottage is absolutely stunning and much thought has gone into making sure it has everything needed. The log burner was lovely distraction while we had a 3 day storm raging outside....

Girl Annie, November 2019

As usual a wonderful holiday. Peaceful, stunning scenery and beautiful cottage.

Penrose, November 2019

A beautiful and stunning location. Sandpipers has a view to die for. Compact and bijou, but has everything you need for a couples hideaway weekend. Sennan village is just a 10 min walk up the coastal path with a lovely pub with excellent food. You may want to book the luggage delivery service as the walk down to theses stunning cottages is steeper and further than you think. But well worth the effort. A shout out to brian the caretaker, a lovely and funny man to chat too that made us feel very welcome indeed.

Sandpipers, November 2019

Yet another lovely stay in this beautiful valley. Accommodation perfect to come back to after being on a wonderful beach and exploring this unspoilt part of Cornwall. Perfect holiday for both humans and dogs. As usual Brian and the team always on hand to help. The weather was magnificent for October. Worth taking pot luck and coming to stay out of season.Many thanks.

Sandpipers, November 2019

This break was a go fund me from our lovely friends , We had the best weekend , little Petra was perfect for us, The views are amazing and out of season was perfect for us as our pooch was free to run on the beach. Thanks to all the staff . We will definelty be back, and hoping to bring a group of us down next time

Little Petra, October 2019

Just perfect in every way!

Petra, October 2019

Great cottage, great caretaker, easy booking, very friendly everybody

Petra, October 2019

We had a wonderful stay in a lovely cosy cottage. Our small dog was overjoyed to be so close to the sea and loved chilling out by the fire at the end of the day

Little Petra, October 2019

Stunning location and beautiful gardens - great to be sitting on top of the coast path and 2 minutes from the beach

Little Petra, October 2019

Absolutely lovely 5 days in Penrose Cottage...

Penrose, September 2019

We heard about Vellandreath from my sister who stayed in 2018 She had rebooked for 2019 staying in Girl Annie and we decided to join her as we all have dogs. Walking down from the car park we knew we were in for a treat. Petra is a very cozy cottage with a beautiful garden, sitting on the garden bench watching the sun set was magical We all had such a fabulous time we have already booked for next year same dates, same cottages Our dog Charlie insisted

Petra, September 2019

2nd.visit as good as the first. A - 1 position for views. Brian on time to receive us at the car park & again on time as pre asked to help us depart. Look forward to next year. Thanks. JLH LMH BRYN MOLLY.

Girl Annie, September 2019

This is our third stay at Vellandreath and is still as magical as the first time we came back in 2004. We will be back for a fourth time! Perfect get away from reality!

White Rose, September 2019

Absolute slice of heaven. Second time for me, my young son and the dog. Cottage is perfect; peaceful, equipped with everything we need, perfect views. Couldn't ask for a more idyllic location. Love this place. Lots of v happy memories and we'll be back.

Sandpipers, August 2019

Amazingly situated. Nicely done out... It was worth the 8 hour drive...Great walks on the coastal path directly from your door!...Hope to come back!

Cats Cradle, July 2019

We had a lovely time. Sonya , our little yorkie enjoyed her stay too. Everything was as good as we had expected.

Basking Shark, June 2019

A lovely house in a wonderful location. The beautiful garden and imaginative planting was an unexpected pleasure. Everyone was very helpful.

Tresillian, June 2019

Enjoyed it so much we have just booked for next year.

Girl Annie, June 2019

Great stay at Basking Shark. Wonderful views. Perfect location for coastal walks and exploring local villages. St Just, Mouseole, St Ives all worth a visit. Small but ideal cottage with all you need. Brian a great help with anything you need.

Basking Shark, June 2019

Fantasy stay once again superb attention to detail awesome accommodation and looked after perfectly by Brian the caretaker. A1 wonderful spot and very highly recommend

Sandpipers, May 2019